16 jailed for pipeline vandalism

The Federal High Court in Ibadan, has in three separate judgments, jailed 16 persons for vandalising oil pipe lines and stealing petroleum products.
The convicts are:  Rasaq Yusuf,   Taiwo Kasali,  Adeniyi Ajibola,  Rafiu Raheem, Sodiq Abdulah,  Segun Adeyemi,  Sheriff Alayande, Segun Akinola and Akorede Akinola.

Others are Saheed Jimoh, Sunday Emanuel, Moses Adebayo, Musbau Isola, Abel Gbadegesin, Raheem Yekini and Sunday Augustin.
Justice Abimbola Obaseki-Adejumo said that she convicted the offenders based on the evidence before her.
Delivering the judgement the judge who said, “I have taken note of the extent of each offender’s involvement in sentencing each of you,” sentenced them to jail terms ranging between one year and five years

According to her, they will also pay fines ranging from N10, 000 to N20, 000, based on their level of involvement upon completion of jail terms.
She said, “All the exhibits like vehicles, drums, kegs and other tools used by the vandals shall be sold to members of the public. The proceeds shall then be deposited in the account of the Federal Government.”

Earlier Counsel to the NSCDC, Mr. Adedeji Olayiwola, told the court that the culprits were separately arraigned on a six-count charge of conspiracy, unlawful tampering, willful damage, unlawful destruction as well as unlawful dealing in and stealing of Premium Motor Spirit.
Olayiwola further disclosed that the defendants were arrested in 2013 at various locations in Oyo State and contravening sections 518 (6), 1 (7 A and B) 17A and B, and 390 of the Miscellaneous Offences Acts, Laws of the Federation of Nigeria,  2004.