16 schools, 6 clubs for Inter Secondary Schools Athletics meet

The 2019 edition of the Inter Secondary Schools Athletics meet will kick off on Saturday in Kaduna with 16 secondary schools, six clubs taking part in four events for boys and girls.  

The annual meet organised by Destiny College, Kaduna to discover new talents for Nigeria, would see athletes from the 16 schools and six clubs battle for honours in 100 meters, 200 meters, 400 meters and 4×100 meters relay races at the tartan track of Ahmadu Bello Stadium, Kaduna. 

Some of the schools registered for the athletics meet are Kaduna Capital School, Federal Government College, Kaduna, Dariq International School, Danbo International School, Future Leaders International School, Zaria Academy, Nigerian Tulip International School, Excel Modern Integrated School and Saint Michael Anglican College.

Others schools for the tourney are Standard Foundation School, Betty Queen International School, Divine Progress International School, Our Lady of Fatimah School, hosts Destiny College, Little Scholars and Uncle Bado Memorial School.  

The six professional clubs expected to partake in the annual tourney include Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, Kaduna Polytechnics, Flying Horse Athletics Club, MA Athletics Club, Kada Athletics Club and Coach Felix Athletics Club. 
There will be entertainments in the form of professional acrobatics, school taekwondo, professional dancing, colourful calisthenics, choreography and military drills. 

According to the chief organiser, Mr Akintunde Busayo, who is also the proprietor of Destiny College, the meet promises to be tough, as the best secondary school athletes in Kaduna state would be involved in the competition.

“Our aim is to one day have students from the participating schools representing Nigeria in athletics event.

“The meet is an annual competition aimed at discovering new talents for Kaduna state and for Nigeria and keeping the athletes fit. The meet is supported by some corporate organisations, and there will be a giant trophy for the overall winning school,” Busayo added. 

Matched content

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.