2018 FIBA Women’s W/Cup: D’Tigress draw Australia, Turkey, Argentina

With agency African champions, Nigeria’s D’Tigress, have been drawn in Group B with Australia, Argentina and Turkey of the 2018 International Basketball Federation (FIBA) Women’s Basketball World Cup in Tenerife, Spain.

The draw which was held yesterday at the Teatro Leal, San Cristobal de la Laguna on the island of Tenerife, was confirmed on FIBA’s verified Twitter handle. D’Tigress emerged champions at the 2017 FIBA Women’s Afrobasket in Bamako, Mali where they defeated Senegal 65-48 in the final to claim the title. It was their third Africa title.

They will come up against an Australian side who were World Cup champions in 2006 and have finished in third position on three occasions in 1998, 2002 and 2014. The Turkish team will be making their second appearance at the Women’s World Cup after finishing fourth at their debut in 2014.

For the Argentines, this will be their ninth outing at the World Cup. Africa’s other representative, Senegal, were drawn in Group D along woth Latvia, United Staes of America and China. South Korea, Greece, Canada and France will slug it out in Group A, while Group C is comprised of Japan, Puerto Rico, Belgium and hosts Spain. The 2018 FIBA Women’s Basketball World Cup will run from 22 to 30 September, 2018.

2018 FIBA Women’s Basketball World Cup Groups:

Group A South Korea, Greece Canada, France

Group B Australia, Turkey Argentina. Nigeria

Group C Japan, Puerto Rico Belgium, Spain

Group D Latvia, USA Senegal, China.

No tags for this post.

Matched content

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.