2023: Umahi, Kalu, Onyeama, others score low on mock presidential polls


To authenticate the clamour for a Nigerian president of Igbo extraction come 2023, chairman of Enugu State Caretaker Committee of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Dr. Ben Nwoye, has challenged politicians in the region to declare their ambition to run for the office.

Nwoye said one did not get something by merely wishing or saying it but should rather start indicating interest as one who wished to be president.

He said it was only when one with such ambition made it public and began to match words with action that people would take such individual seriously.

The chairman frowned at a situation where virtually all those who are nursing the presidential ambition in South East zone are doing so in their respective comfort zones.

Nwoye, was reacting Tuesday to a recent online opinion poll which favoured a chieftain of APC and renowned philanthropist from Enugu state, Emperor Baywood Chris Ibeh, as the best for the presidential position.

It was gathered that the mock election was conducted by a group championing the 2023 Igbo presidential project, operating under the platform of APC South East Integrity Group, led by Dr. Chinedu Ogbuagu.

The group has been soliciting support for a Nigerian president of Igbo extraction ahead of 2023, across various segments of Nigeria.

The result of the mock election in which 89 members of the group were said to have voted, Emperor Baywood Ibeh, emerged victorious with 29 votes, ahead of other South East political leaders who have presidential ambition.

According to the result released by the group, other scores are as follows: Nigeria’s Minister of State for Education, Dr. Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba, 18 Votes, Minister of Science and Technology, Dr. Ogbonnaya Onu 14, Ex- Governor of Anambra state, Mr. Peter Obi 10, former governor of Enugu state, Barrister Sullivan Chime 7, Ex- Senate President, Chief Ken Nnamani 3, Senator Rochas Anayo Okorocha 3, Senator Orji Ụzọ Kalu 2, Ebonyi state governor, Engr. Dave Nweze Umahi 1, and one Francis Nomeh 1.

They claimed that other shortlisted Igbo politicians, such as Hon. Chike Okafor, Nigeria’s Minister of Foreign Affair’s, Mr. Geoffrey Onyeama, Sharon Ikeazor, Sen Julius Ucha and Sen Osita Izunaso, among others, had zero vote.

Nwoye, however, congratulated Ibeh on his victory, saying he is “a very capable and eminent Nigerian qualified enough to steer the ship of the country.

The Enugu APC boss, added that the business mogul has distinguished himself in a number of ways and, “is someone we can vouch for.”

According to Nwoye, “while I congratulate Emperor Baewood Ibeh on his victory, I must tell the others that they are all winners. Ndigbo are united to achieve common goal in 2023, so there is no loser.

He stressed that the people of the Southeast must demonstrate seriousness in ruling this country by 2023.

“Nobody will be in the comfort of his room and they come and deliver presidency to him, you must have to make a move.”

Related content you may like