3 APC members in Benue face suspension as SWC meets

Three members of the All Progressive Congress in Benue state have been recommended for suspension by the Kwande local government area chapter of the party over alleged involvement in anti-party activities.

They are former House of Representatives member for Kwande/ Ushongo federal constituency, Barr. Benjamin Wayo, APC senatorial candidate in the 2019 election for Benue North East, Mimi Orubibi and another strong member of the party, Mr Iorfa Dzoho.

Caretaker Publicity Secretary of the party in the state, Mr. James Ornguga, said the Kwande chapter of APC had notified the State Working Committee (SWC), of their decision to suspend them.

He said though the local chapter of the party had recommended them for suspension, the SWC would sit on today to decide on their fate.  

“The procedure is that the LG chapter can only recommend somebody for suspension, it is the SWC that carries out the suspension. 

“For now, we are going to sit over the matter on Monday.

“The issue is before us but for now, they have not been suspended yet. 

The suspension had only been recommended by the local chapter.

Ornguga disclosed that the Kwande APC had informed the state executive of the party that the three persons recommended for sanctions “ anti-party activities and they tried to disrupt the leadership of the party in the LG. 

“For example, there were reports against them that the LG chairman in Kwande fought with the zonal chairman during a function. 

“They also tried to beat the man who is leader of the party in that LG to replace him with somebody.”

Mrs Mimi Orubibi had reportedly visited an IDP camp in the state last weekend where she berated the APC led federal government for failing in their duties to safeguard the lives of Nigerians by ending cases of insecurity across the nation and for reneging their promises to return IDPs, in Benue to their ancestral homes.

Mrs Orubibi was a strong contender and the first runner up for the Benue North East Senatorial Seat in the 2019 general elections. 

No tags for this post.