500,000 Kwankwansiyya loyalists in Edo dump APC, to join PDP

Loyalists of former Kano state governor, Senator Rabiu Musa in Edo state under the aegis of Kwankwansiyya movement yesterday resigned their membership of the All Progressives Congress (APC).
The movement in a statement endorsed by Chief Osamede Adum and Mrs. A.O. Omagbon, caucus Chairman and state Coordinator respectively said the group had 589,137 supporters in the state.
According to the letter of resignation dated August 9, 2018, the group said: “We wish to inform the state leadership of the APC that…the 589, 137 members of the Kwankwansiyya movement from the 192 wards in Edo state hereby resigns from the APC with immediate effect, today 9th August 2018”.
The leaders attributed their decision to dump the ruling party to critical evaluation, discussions, due consultations and review of the unfolding political events in the country.
The development is coming amidst speculations that the National chairman of the APC and former Edo governor, Mr. Adams Oshiomhole is expected in the state to reconcile warring factions.
It was gathered that leaders of the movement which led by former Kano state governor, Senator Rabiu Kwankwanso, would soon decide on their next line of action.
Blueprint however learnt that members are likely to join their national leader in the main opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) next week.
Notable members of the movement in the state include, a former APC National Assembly member for Ovia federal constituency, Isaac Osahon, former APC chairman for Orhionwon local government, Mr .Mathew Ehigie and erstwhile council Chairman for Ovia Northeast local government, Mrs.
Lucy Omagbon

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply