ABU ASUU okays exco for second term

All the executive officers of the Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU), Ahmadu Bello University (ABU), Zaria chapter, have been re-elected to run the affairs of the union for two years.

This was contained in a statement issued yesterday by the chairman, Electoral Committee, Malam Sani Usman, in Zaria.
The statement said all the candidates were returned unopposed to clinch various executive positions of the union.

It added that at the initial stage three positions of treasurer, financial secretary and welfare secretary were to be competed for, but all other positions were unopposed.

The statement said: “However, Dr Sule Abubakar, Dr Hamisu Kargi and Malam Mohammed Dabo, have honourably withdrawn their candidatures as treasurer, financial secretary and welfare secretary, respectively, on their own.
“So, in view of the above development, there will be no any election, as earlier announced, all contestants are hereby declared unopposed.”

The exco included Dr Mohammed Kabir-Aliyu of Archaeology Department as chairman; Dr Almustapha Liman of Pathology Department, secretary and Abubakar Sule of Archaeology Department as assistant secretary.
Others, according to the release, are Dr Mohammed Othman of National Agricultural Extension Research and Liaison Services (NAERLS), treasurer; Dr Trever Ause, Metallurgical Engineering, as financial secretary and Dr Mohammed Usman, Economics as internal auditor.

It added that the position of welfare secretary went to Dr Auwal Kasim of Metallurgical Engineering and that Dr Kabir Danladi of Public Law emerged investment secretary.

No tags for this post.