African Poetry Prize releases 2020 shortlist

Brunel International African Poetry Prize has released its 2020 shortlist.

According to the judges,  out of about a thousand entries, six poets have been shortlisted for the prize scheduled to be announced in May.

The six poets are: Akosua Afirye- Hwedie (Zambia/Ghana/Botswana), Rabah Ashry (Egypt), Inua Ellams (Nigeria), Amanda Holiday (Sierra Leone), Nour Kamel (Egypt) and Saradha Soobrayen (Mauritius).

The prize is being judged this Karen McCarthy Woolf (Chair), Kayo Chingonyi, Billy Kahora, Momtaza Mehri and Koleka Putuma.

Now in it’s seventh year, the largest cash prize for African poetry is aimed at the development, celebration and promotion of poetry from Africa.

Sponsored by Brunel University, London, it is open to African poets worldwide who have not yet published a full poetry collection. Each poet has to submit 10 poems in order to be eligible.

It has previously been won by Warsan Shire (2013); Liyou Libsekal (2014); Safia Elhillo & Nick Makoha (2015); Gbenga Adesina & Chekwube O. Danladi (2016); Romeo Oriogun (2017); Hiwot Adilow, Theresa Lola & Momtaza Mehri (2018); Nadra Mabrouk & Jamila Osman (2019).

No tags for this post.

Matched content

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.