After swearing in of Dambaba, PDP Senators swell to 45 in Senate

The number of Senators elected on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party ( PDP) for the 9th Senate, increased to 45 from 44 with the swearing in of Senator Ibrahim Abdullahi Danbaba as replacement for Senator Shehu Abubakar Tambuwal who earlier represented Sokoto South Senatorial District on the platform of the All Progressives Congress ( APC).

Senator Tambuwal was sacked penultimate week by the Court of Appeal Sokoto on the strength of litigation brought against him by Danbaba over   the outcone of the February 23, 2019 National Assembly Elections. 

Consequently, APC which had 64 Senators in it’s fold before the outcome of the various electoral litigations , now reduced to 62 , having earlier lost Ekiti South Senatorial Seat ,earlier occupied by Senator Adedayo Adeyeye to Senator Biodun Olujimi of the PDP. 

However, the number of APC Senators may increase to 63 , if rerun election conducted in the Kogi West Senatorial District last Saturday by the Independent National Electoral Commission ( INEC) , is eventually won by Senator Smart Adeyemi who is already ahead of his closest rival, Senator Dino Melaye of the PDP .

Statistically, while the ruling party, APC has 63, PDP has 45 and the  Young Progressives Party ( YPP) , has 1, totalling 108 as Kogi West Senatorial Seat is yet to be finally decided between Smart Adeyemi of the APC and Dino Melaye of the PDP .

No tags for this post.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.