APC approves 17 aspirants for Osun guber primary


The National Working Committee of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has approved 17 governorship aspirants to participate in the primary election in Osun state. It is scheduled to hold this Thursday.
The approved aspirants, it was learnt, are those that could afford the N5.5million nomination form sold by the NWC of the party.
State chapters of the party also charges N2million.
Earlier, 32 aspirants showed in- terest to contest the election after payment of N500,000 to the state party Secretariat.
However, the National Working Committee of the party has adopted direct primary election to choose the candidate who will carry the flag of the party during the governorship election in the state.
National Chairman of APC, Comrade Adams Oshiomole, dis- closed this at a meeting of the par- ty’s National Working Committee (NWC) held at the National secre- tariat of the party in Abuja.
Oshiomole explained that direct primary to be adopted by the party was the most democratic way to en- sure that a truly popular candidate emerges as the flag bearer of the party.
The aspirants include, Benedict O Alabi, Babatunde Adedotun Taiwo, Lasun Yusuff Sulaiman (Deputy Speaker, House of Representatives) Oyetola Isiaq Gboyega (Chief of staff to the governor), Adeyinka Ajayi, Adeoti Moshood, (SSG) Pe- ter Babalola, Saka Layonu, and Oy- emomi Ezekiel.
Others are: Oriolowo Adelere, Amere Gafar, Najeem Salam (Speak- er, Osun House of Assembly), Mu- mini Rafiu A.O., Alamu Bisi, Dayo Oyebamiji, Kunle Adegoke, and Senator Babajide Omoworare.

Similar news  Minimum wage: FG suspends request for salary reviews, adjustments


Pic story President Muhammadu Buhari (middle), with the Judges of the International Criminal Court (ICC), during the 20th Anniversary of ICC at The Hague, Netherlands yesterday Photo: NAN

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply