APC: Belgore rejects Kwara board membership

The gubernatorial candidate of the defunct Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN),in the 2011 election in Kwara state , Mohammed Dele Belgore (SAN) ,has rejected membership of the state’s  All Progressives Congress(APC) Governing Board.
The board comprises the state governor,Alhaji Abdulfatah Ahmed and his deputy, Elder Petera Kisira ,Senators Bukola Saraki and Shaaba Lafiagi, Belgore and six members of the House of Representatives.
Others includ the speaker of the state House of Assembly, Barrister Rasaq Atunwa and several other prominent figures in the state.
The APC second vice chairman, North central, General Abdullahi Aboki named the governing board members prior to the inauguration of a 9 -man interim excos for the state on Monday at a ceremony held at Saraki’s  mandate constituency office.
Although Belgore had opposed to the handing over of the party structure to Saraki, but a source within the APC said his name and that of twenty of his supporters were listed to give him a sense of belonging.
However, a statement made available to journalists through the Belgore’s media aide, Rafiu Ajakaye stated that his name was put on the list without his consent.
The statement further added that Belgore will never be part of any arrangement that perpetrates any evil status quo that the people of Kwara so earnestly – and genuinely – wish to do away with.
In the composition of the interim executive members constituted on Monday, five key offices of the party was conceded to members of the Peoples Democratic Party(PDP) who defected to the APC.
The are Alhaji Ishola Balogun Fulani as chairman, Alhaji Abubakar Suka- Baba, Vice Chairman, Mr. Prince Yemi Afolayan, Secretary and Hajiya Muslimat Ibrahim as woman leader and Salihu Muhammed-Youh leader.
The defunct ACN members got two posts namely; Alhaja Abiodun Afusat as treasurer and Mallam Manzuma Dogo appointed as organising secretary ,Alhaji Sulaiman Buhari of defunct CPC was appointed as Public Relations Officer ,and Alhaji Eleja Taiwo of defunct ANPP emerged as the financial secretary.

No tags for this post.

Sign Up Now

ePaper Subscription