APC members defend Daura, Kyari, reject calls for sack

Some members of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) have taken a solidarity protest to the national secretariat of the party in defence of the Chief of Staff to President Muhammadu Buhari, Abba Kyari and others.

During the peaceful protest on Tuesday, the APC members urged the president to ignore those calling for the sack of Chief of Staff to the president.

Those who protested against Kyari had said, they were protesting state of insecurity in Nigeria and blamed the president’s inability to adequately tackle the insecurity on Kyari and Daura whom they referred to as members of presidency cabals.

They alleged that, the cabal was also responsible for what they described as low performance of President Muhammadu Buhari in his first four years in office.

However, the group, under the aegis of Muhammadu Buhari Osinbajo Dynamic Support Group (MBO-DSG), who took their protest to the secretariat faulted their argument, insisting there is no any cabal in Aso Rock.

The APC members, led by the National coordinator of the group, Usman Ibrahim while briefing journalists restated President’s rights to exclusivity of appointments of his personal aides, advisers and ministers.

According to him, “President Muhammadu Buhari rode on the public trust in 2015 to emerge as the President and Commader-in-Chief of the Armed forces and has never deviated from his commitment and covenant to the Nigerian project.

“The cabal ideology was introduced into the Nigerian political lexicon from the time immemorial and every administration that existed before now have been accused to be under the influence of a perceived cabals; this we viewed as a familiar song and we felt if our brothers are genuine in their agitations, they would have made their points and register their grouse sinking into error of language.”

The group was addressed by National Auditor of the party, George Moughalu on behalf of National Chairman, who assured them of proper communication of their message to members of National Working Committee of the party.

Matched content

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.