Aregbesola pardons 5 inmates


Osun state Governor, Mr. Rauf Aregbesola, has pardoned five inmates in the Kirikiri Maximum Security Prison and Federal Prisons, Ilesha.
Aregbesola released the inmate following an advice and recommendations of the State Advisory Council on Prerogative of Mercy.
A statement issued by the Attorney-General and Commissioner for Justice, Dr Ajibola Basiru, through the Information Officer, Ministry of Justice, Mr. Ope Bello, said the power exercised by the Governor was contained in Section 212 (1) (a) of the Constitution of Federal Republic of Nigeria 1999 (as amended).
Basiru commended the Governor for his commitment to justice sector reforms and prison decongestion.
Three of the pardoned prisoners, Akeem Afolahan, Olowoyo Oladipo, Alaba Olagunjun, were on death sentence, while the other two, Olabisi Adediji and Oladapo Adediji, were serving a life sentence.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.