Bagudu, Matawalle, Ihedioha, others for security award

The governors of Kebbi, Abubakar Atiku Bagudu; Imo, Emeka Ihedioha;  Zamfara, Bello Matawalle; and Kogi, Yahaya Bello, are among the dignitaries billed to receive  this year’s security excellence award.

The programme which is being organised by Myproject Institute of Security and Strategic Studies, will hold at the National Defence College, Abuja on November 30 and will parade experts in the nation’s security sector, government officials and captains of industries.

Speaking to Blueprint on Tuesday, the national co-ordinator of the institute, Dr Mohammed Ali, said the award is to recognise companies, professionals and states that demonstrate excellence, innovation and leadership in the nations security sector.

 Ali said the awardees were selected based on the strength of their nomination as well as the popular vote by members of the security community.

 “Insecurity in Nigeria has become a major concern for citizens as well as the international community. In the last few years, the country has battled with all forms of insecurity.

“Insecurity has affected economic growth by drying out investments, increasing unemployment and dwindling government revenue, amongst others.

 “There is need to identify and encourage individuals who through their relentless and engagements with relevant stakeholders make the country enjoy relative peace, hence this event,” he said.

 Ali noted that the security excellence award represents one of the biggest single networking opportunities for serious players in the security sector.

Matched content

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.