Blueprint Annual Impact Series/Awards debuts today

Blueprint Newspapers Limited will today hold the maiden edition of its annual impact series and awards event.
A statement by its Chairman, Alhaji Idris Mohammed, described the event as the company’s modest contribution to national discourse, with the aim of proffering solutions to the myriad of challenges faced by the nation.
The programme which holds at Rockview (Royale) Hotel in Abuja, will be chaired by Samaila Isa Funtua, patron of the Newspapers Proprietors’ Association of Nigeria (NPAN), and a fellow of the International Press Institute (IPI).
Also, a revered monarch and former administrator, Emir of Birnin Gwari, Zubairu Jibrin Maigari II, is expected to deliver a paper on “Tolerance, Unity and Security: Building a Legacy for National Development,” at the event where some eminent Nigerians would be singled out for recognition for their contributions to national development.
“The choice of the topic is informed by the prevailing circumstances in the country where national unity and cohesion are gradually being eroded,” Idris explained.
The publisher further said, “Blueprint has grown steadily and has remained an authoritative platform for truth and justice in national discourse, and celebrating distinguished individuals and corporate organisations that have made remarkable impact in the socio-economic and political development of Nigeria,” adding that “this will go a long way to solidifying the place of the paper in the Nigerian media space.”
Listed for award at the event are deserving Nigerians, including the Central Bank Governor, Godwin Emefiele to be honoured as the Distinguished Financial Policy Strategist of the Year, while Governor Ibrahim Dankwambo of Gombe state will be honoured as the Most Outstanding Governor of the Year.
Also, Yobe state Governor, Ibrahim Gaidam, will receive Distinguished Education Champion award, his Kano counterpart, Dr. Umar Ganduje, bags the Distinguished Fiscal Policy Champion Award, while Governor Simon Lalong, is to be decorated as a Distinguished Human Capital Development Champion.
Minister of Transport, Rotimi Amaechi, will be conferred with the Most Distinguished Achiever in Transport Infrastructure Award, while the Chief of Army Staff, Tukur Buratai (a lieutenant general), is to be honoured with the Distinguished Security Champion Award.
The Commandant-General of the Nigeria Security and Civil Defence Corps (NSCDC), Abdullahi Muhammadu, is to receive the Distinguished Infrastructure Safety award, while the chairman of the National Hajj Commission (NAHCON), Abdullahi Mukhtar will receive the Distinguished Public Service Champion Award.
National President of the National Union of Road Transport Workers, Najeem Yasin, will be honoured as Distinguished Champion of Transport Workers.
Other personalities to be honoured are Katsina State Governor, Aminu Masari (Distinguished Agriculture and Environment Champion award); the Vice-Chancellor of University of Agriculture, Umudike, Professor Francis Otunta (Award of Excellence in Education); Senator Shehu Sani (Distinguished Public Advocacy Champion), while the immediate past Kogi state Governor, Idris Wada will be honoured with a Distinguished Award in Patriotism.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply