Breaking: APC upholds disqualification of ex-INEC REC in Bayelsa gov race

The National Working Committee (NWC) of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has upheld the reports of the screening and appeal committees for the Bayelsa Governorship aspirants.

A statement this night by the party’s spokesman, Mallam Lanre Issa-Onilu said, of the total seven governorship aspirants that were screened, six were cleared to participate in the governorship primary in Bayelsa state. They are: Mr. Aganaba Preye Steven, Sen. Heineken Lokpobiri, Prince Ebitimi Christopher Amgbare, Ms. Diseye Nsirim Poweigha, Mr. Lyon David Pereworimini, and Engr. Prof (Mrs.) Ongoebi Maureen Etebu.

“Dr. Briyai Oyeins Frankland was not cleared to participate in the Party’s governorship primary .

“The APC NWC upheld the disqualification of Dr. Briyai Oyeins Frankland based on Section 3 Paragraph “L” of the Party’s guidelines for the nomination of candidates which requires that aspirants are card-carrying member of the party for a period of one year.
“The party also found no record of his membership of APC and was therefore considered ineligible.”

Matched content

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.