Breaking: El-Rufai re-elected Kaduna governor

The Independent National Electoral Commission () on Monday declared the All Progressives Congress (APC) gubernatorial candidate, Governor Nasir Ahmad el-Rufai as the winner of the Saturday governorship election in state.

Announcing the results and declaring Governor el-Rufai re-elected, the Returning Officer for the governorship poll, Prof. Mohammed Yahuza Bello said, el-Rufai pollled a total votes of 1,045,427 to emerge as winner.

Prof. Bello said the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) governoship candidate, Hon. Isa Mohammed Ashiru polled a total votes of 814,168.

According to the Returning Officer: “Nasir Ahmad El-Rufai of the All Progressives Congress having satisfied all the requirements of the law and scored the highest number of votes, is hereby declared the winner and returned elected”.

The results of the 23 local government areas of the state, show that, Governor El-Rufai won in 14 local government areas of Makarfi, Soba, Kudan, Ikara, Kauru, Kubau, North, Giwa, Birnin Gwari, Sabongari, Lere, South, Zaria and Igabi local government areas.

The opposition candidate, Hon. Isa Ashiru Kudan of the People’s Democratic Party on the other hand won in nine local government areas Jaba, Kachia, Kaura, Kajuru, Zango Kataf, Sanga, Chikun, Kagarko and Jema’a local government areas. 

The results equally show that Governor El-Rufai of the APC got 56% of the total votes scored, while Ashiru of the PDP got 44%.

Matched content