Breaking: Imo deputy speaker quits as 9 Lawmakers move to APC

The Imo House of Assembly Tuesday resumed sitting after the Christmas and New Year holidays and members immediately responded to the change of new government in the state.

In line with that, the Deputy Speaker, Hon Okey Onyekanma, of Mbaitoli state constituency who is also of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) stock resigned from that position.

Reading Onyekanma’s resignation letter, Speaker of the House, Rt.Hon. Chiji Collins, disclosed that his resignation was as a result of convention and zoning principle in the house which prescribes that the deputy speaker should come from the geo-political zone of the sitting governor.

The Speaker also announced the defection of nine lawmakers from their parties to the All Progressives Congress (APC) citing various reasons for their actions.

They are: Hon Arthur Egwim ( Ideato North ) from Action Alliance(AA), Hon Amarachi Iwuanyanwu(Nwangele) from PDP, Hon Chidiebere Ogbunikpa(Okigwe) PDP,  and Hon Obinna Okwara (Nkwere) AA.

Others are Hon Paul Emeziem (Onuimo)APGA, Hon Ekene Ndumele(Orsu)APGA, Hon Ngozi Obiefule(Isu)AA, Hon Johnson Duru of Ideato South and Hon Cyriscus Okoro(Ohaji Egbema) PDP.

Also at the plenary, the House screened and confirmed Barr. C.O.C. Akolisa for the position of Attorney  General and Commissioner for Justice following the request of Governor Hope Uzodinma for speedy consideration.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply