Breaking: INEC declares PDP’s Alagbaoso winner in Imo re-run amidst controversies

Against all odds, () in Imo state Tuesday evening declared Hon. Jerry Alagbaoso of the People’s Democratic Party () winner of last Saturday’s Re-run election for Orlu/Orsu/Oru East Federal Constituency, thus making it the third time he is emerging victorious.

After last Saturday’s election, it was declared inconclusive but on Monday,  information went round that the results would be finally announced on Tuesday.

According to the Returning Officer for the constituency, Dr Emma Anukuba, who announced the results, Alagbaoso polled 22,475 votes to beat second-placed Edwin Iheanacho of the All Progressives Congress(APG) who polled 20, 814 votes.

It is worthy to note that before the announcement of the results, a little drama played out in the hall.

The Police Commissioner, Mr Faforowa Bolaji Olaniyi, had brought a court order against the announcement but the Resident Electoral Commissioner, Prof Francis Ezeonu, stood his ground and the announcement went ahead.

Matched content

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.