Buhari scraps Osinbajo’s Economic Management Team, constitutes 8-member Economic Advisory Council


President Muhammadu Buhari Monday approved the constitution of an 8-member Economic Advisory Council (EAC) to be chaired by Professor Doyin Salami.

The advisory council would replace the current Economic Management Team (EMT) and would be reporting directly to the president, Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity Mr Femi Adesina said in a statement in Abuja.

The statement said Dr Mohammed Sagagi would serve ad Vice Chairman of the council while the Senior Special Assistant to the President on Development Policy Dr Mohammed Adaya Salisu would serve as secretary.

Members of the council are former Governor of Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) Professor Chukwuma Soludo, Professor Ode Ojowu, Dr Shehu Yahaya, Dr Iyabo Masha and Mr Bismark Rewane.

The Economic Advisory Council (EAC) would advise the president on economic policy matters including fiscal analysis, economic growth and a range of internal and global economic issues working with the relevant cabinet members and heads of monetary and fiscal agencies.

Adesina said the council would have monthly technical sessions and scheduled quarterly meetings with the president. 

He said chairman of the council may request for unscheduled meetings if the need arises.

Matched content

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.