Buhari seeks Senate’s confirmation of 7 ICPC new members 

Blueprint Whatsapp
President Muhammadu Buhari with Senate President Ahmed Lawan

President Muhammadu Buhari has forwarded for confirmation names of seven new members of the Independent Corrupt Practices and other Related Offences Commission (ICPC) to the Senate. 

Names of the nominees  contained in a letter  read in plenary Tuesday  by the Senate President,  Ahmad Lawan, include Justice Adamu Bello (rtd) from Katsina state  to represent North-West;  Hannatu Muhammed from Jigawa state  to represent North-West; Mrs Olubukola Balogun from Lagos state  to represent South West.

Others are Barr. Obiora Samuel Igwedibia from Anambra state to represent South- East, Dr. Abdullahi Maikano Sadu  from Niger state to represent North- Central; Prince Dauda Yahaya Umar from Nasarawa state to represent North-Central and Dr. Grace Nkechinyere Chida from Delta state to represent South-South.

President Buhari in the letter said the nominees’ appointment is in accordance with the provisions of Section 3 (3) and 7 of the Corrupt Practices and other Related Offences Act 2000.

He accordingly urged the Senate to give the request expeditious consideration and approval.

Related content you may like