D’Tigers, D’Tigresses get Tokyo Olympics opponent Feb 2

Nigeria men and women’s Basketball teams D’Tigers and D’Tigress will know their opponents in the upcoming Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games on Tuesday February 2, 2021.

FIBA announced that due to the current health pandemic, the draws which will take place at the Patrick Baumann House of Basketball in Mies, Switzerland will be behind closed doors and will be streamed across FIBA’s digital channels on YouTube and Facebook .

Twelve teams have qualified for the Tokyo 2020 Women’s Olympic Basketball Tournament, representing five continents. They are: Africa: Nigeria
America: Canada, Puerto Rico and the USA
Asia: China, Japan (host) and Korea
Europe: Belgium, France, Serbia and Spain
Oceania: Australia

Each team will be allocated to four pots based on the FIBA Women’s World Ranking, presented by Nike. The Draw will distribute the teams in three groups of four teams each and all teams will be drawn and placed into either Group A, B or C. There can be a maximum of one group with two European teams and no more than one team from another continent in the same group.

Eight teams have already qualified for the Tokyo 2020 Men’s Olympic Basketball Tournament through the FIBA Basketball World Cup 2019, representing five continents. They are:

Africa: Nigeria
Americas: Argentina and the USA
Asia: Iran and Japan (host)
Europe: France and Spain
Oceania: Australia

The remaining four slots will be awarded to the four teams winning the FIBA Olympic Qualifying Tournaments scheduled from June 29 to July 4, 2021, in Victoria, Canada; Split, Croatia; Kaunas, Lithuania; and Belgrade Serbia.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply