Ekiti Assembly lifts suspension on former speaker, four others

The Ekiti state House of Assembly Wednesday lifted the suspension placed on the former speaker Mr. Kola Oluwawole and four other lawmakers

The lawmakers were reinstated during Wednesday plenary presided over by the Speaker, Mr Adeniran Alagbada.

Those who got a reprieve were former Deputy Speaker, Mr Segun Adewumi, Mr Abiola Jeje, (Ido/Osi 11), Mr Adesina Animasaun,(Ekiti West 11) and Mr Dare Pelemo (Ekiti East 11).

The affected lawmakers were among those suspended last year October on the allegation of passage of the N10 billion supplementary budget of former Gov. Ayo Fayose.

The reinstatement followed the adoption of the report of the Appeal Panel Committee chaired by Chief Gboyega Aribisogan (Ikole 1).

The motion for the adoption of the report of the committee was moved by Aribisogan and seconded by Mr Sunday Akinniyi (Ikere 11).

Briefing journalists shortly after plenary, Aribisogan, who is also the leader of the house, said the lawmakers reabsorbed the affected members because they appealed and showed remorse of their actions.

“The All Progressives Congress (APC) members in the spirit of love have made it possible for the successful plenary sitting today for the reinstatement of the suspended House members.

“Though, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) felt that the suspended members, who are mainly from their party should not be reinstated because of the internal crisis, but APC members opposed that.

“The affected PDP members who had earlier written letters of apology are hereby reabsorbed,”Aribisogan said.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.