FCT: INEC fixes date for Area Council elections

INEC chairman Mahmood Yakubu


The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has fixed 12th February 2022 as the date for the conduct of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) Area Councils Election and issued the timetable and schedule of activities for the election.
A statement on Wednesday by the National Commissioner Information and Voter Education Committee Festus Okoye said, “the three-year tenure of the Six (6) chairmen and 62(Sixty-two) councillors will expire in May 2022 having been elected on the 9th March 2019 and sworn in on the 19th May 2019 

The commission stated that by section 113 of the Electoral Act, an Area Council shall stand dissolved at the expiration of a three (3) year period, starting from the date the Chairman took the Oath of Office, or when the legislative arm of the Council was inaugurated whichever is earlier. 

The FCT is the only part of the country where INEC is responsible for the conduct of Local Government election. 
According to INEC by  paragraph 1© of the Commission’s guidelines and regulations “where the end of the tenure of FCT area council does not coincide with a general election year, the election to the office of the Chairman, Vice-Chairman and Councillors of the area councils shall hold on Saturday closest to 100 days to the end of the tenure of the elected officials of the area councils.”

The statement further stated, “In the exercise of the powers conferred on it by the Constitution, the Electoral Act and all other powers enabling it in that regard, the Commission has fixed 12th February 2022 as the date for the conduct of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) Area Councils Election. Consequently, the Commission hereby issues the Timetable and Schedule of Activities for the election.
“By the timetable and schedule of activities, the commission will issue the statutory notice of election on 31st March 2021. The Collection of Forms EC9 (Formerly CF001) and EC9B (Formerly CF002) for the election will take place on 1st April, 2021 and the conduct of party primaries and resolution of disputes arising from the primaries will take place on 1st -24th April 2021. 
“The personal particulars of the candidates will be published on 5th June 2021 and the parties will commence campaigns on 14th November 2021. The Final List of Nominated Candidates will be published on 11th January, 2022.
“The commission enjoins all the registered political parties to pay close attention to the timelines and schedule of activities outlined in the Timetable and Schedule of Activities as they are constitutional and statutorily provisions.
“We also enjoin political parties to conduct rancour-free primaries, guarantee level playing field for all aspirants and conduct necessary due diligence on all forms and documents that will be submitted to the Commission. 
“The commission is concerned about the spate of acrimonious primaries as well as the nomination of unqualified candidates, which results in avoidable litigations, and the nullification of elections by Election Petition Tribunals.
“We urge all the stakeholders to support the Commission’s efforts to strengthen the electoral process, including the deployment of technology to deliver free, fair and credible elections.
“The detailed timetable and schedule of activities has been uploaded in the commissions website and social media handles.” 

Related content you may like

Be the first to comment