FCT minister swears in new area council chairmen

 Minister of Federal Capital Territory (FCT), Malam Muhammad Musa Bello, has charged the newly sworn-in Chairmen of area councils to shun all acts of corruption and use public funds for the sole purpose for which they are intended.

 The All Progressives Congress (APC) won four area councils of Abuja Municipal Area Council (AMAC), Abaji, as well as Gwagwalada and Kwali while the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) won Bwari and Kuje area councils at the just concluded 2019 elections.

He said the temptations that came with occupying elected public offices are enormous but they must not lose sight, urging them to be accountable to the electorates who voted them into power.

According to him, the welfare and wellbeing of your people should come first in all your decisions and actions. Saying: You must learn from the mistakes of your predecessors and build on their successes.

Malam Bello however,  admonished them not to limit their relationships to their respective area councils alone, but rather tap from wealth of experiences of those who have excelled in their various fields.

Responding on behalf of other Chairmen, the AMAC Chairman, Honourable Abdullahi Adamu Candido, thanked the minister for his leadership role since he assumed office, tasking the FCT administration to breach the communication gap between the administration and area councils.

The newly sworn-in Chairmen were Honourables Abdullahi Adamu Candido, AMAC and Abdulrahman Ajiya, Abaji, others include John Gabaya Shekwogaza -Bwari, Adamu Mustapha Danze, Gwagwalada and Abdullahi Suleiman Sabo, Kuje as well as Daniel Chiya, for Kwali Area councils.

No tags for this post.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.