FIFA Puskas Award 2019 shortlist: Premier League star Townsend battles Ibrahimovic, Messi, 5 others

Crystal Palace’s Andros Townsend will vie with Lionel Messi and Zlatan Ibrahimovic after FIFA announced its shortlist for this year’s Puskas Award.

England winger Townsend’s stunning volley against Manchester City at the Etihad last term is one of the 10 contenders announced by world football’s governing body.

The Eagles star’s effort was the Premier League goal of the season in 2018-19, as awarded by Match of the Day.

Townsend is joined in contention by Messi, following the Barcelona superstar’s stunning chip against Real Betis in La Liga back in March.

Zlatan Ibrahimovic’s acrobatic volley for LA Galaxy against Toronto last September is also included, as is a remarkable mid-air backheel by Sampdoria’s Fabio Quagliarella, similarly notched last September.

A fan vote – with voting ending on September 1 – will decide the top three strikes, with a panel of FIFA legends then deciding upon the overall winner.

Liverpool’s Mo Salah won the award last year for his virtuoso goal against Everton in the Premier League.

Those shortlisted are:

Matheus Cunha (BRA), Bayer Leverkusen v RB Leipzig [Bundesliga] (6 April 2019).

Zlatan Ibrahimović (SWE), Toronto FC v LA Galaxy [MLS] (15 September 2018).

Lionel Messi (ARG), Real Betis v FC Barcelona [La Liga] (17 March 2019).

Ajara Nchout (CMR), Cameroon v New Zealand [FIFA Women’s World Cup] (20 June 2019).

Fabio Quagliarella (ITA), Sampdoria v Napoli [Serie A] (2 September 2018).

Juan Fernando Quintero (COL), River Plate v Racing Club [Argentinian Superliga] (10 February 2019).

Amy Rodriguez (USA), Utah Royals v Sky Blue FC [NWSL] (16 June 2019).

Billie Simpson (NIR), Sion Swifts Ladies FC v Cliftonville Ladies FC [Women’s NIFL Premiership] (9 August 2018).

Andros Townsend (ENG), Manchester City v Crystal Palace [Premier League] (22 December 2018).

Dániel Zsóri (HUN), Debrecen FC v Ferencváros TC [Nemzeti Bajnoskag I] (16 February 2019).

“After the close of public voting, the top three goals selected by the users will be put up for a vote among FIFA Legends, who will decide the winner of the FIFA Puskás Award.

“The full voting and award process is explained in the rules of allocation,” the site advised.

Matched content

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.