Finalists of Oyebode U15 cup for Remo Stars invitational tourney

Two weeks of exciting and exhilarating youth football came to an end Saturday at Ikole township stadium, Ekiti state, with the organizers, sponsors, stakeholders and of course, players and officials expressing unbridled happiness and satisfaction on the success of the competition organized by Ekiti state football association.

The Oyebode U15 football competition for boys and girls, which was sponsored by the Oyebode family to celebrate its patriarch Prof. Akin Oyebode featured 13 male and 6 female teams representing various local football councils in the state.

The games, particularly the female category, laid a benchmark for female football development in Ekiti state. In 16 matches played, 37 goals were recorded. 

Expectedly, the boys lived up to billings posting several matches that had fans on their toes throughout the competition. 29 matches in the boys category recorded impressive 71 goals.

The well attended finals of the competition was witnessed by football big wigs within and outside the state, top politicians, families and associates of the sponsors, football scouts and top sports journalists from different parts of the country.

The youth tournament which has continued to receive rave reviews from stakeholders witnessed historic fallouts that included a sponsorship grant from NFF 1st Vice-President Barr. Seyi Akinwunmi to Busuyi Olowoselu, one of the outstanding coaches during the competition to further boost his knowledge at the prestigious Nigeria Institute of Sports.

Interestingly, too, Remo Stars football club of Ogun state has also invited both finalists in the boys category, Ado LFC, the winners of the competition and second placed Irepodun Ifelodun LFC to a four team invitational tournament to hold later May, at the Remo Stars International football facilities, Ikenne.

Much more, Lagos based NLO side Iganmu FC, also promised to forster better and stronger ties with Ekiti state football association.

Meanwhile, some outstanding players at the tournament received individual honours in recognition of their talents. 

In the girls category, Halimat AbdulKareem won the best goalkeeper award, while Pascaline Adelabu who scored 6 goals and Marvelous Jegede carted home the highest goals scorer and most valuable player awards respectively.

Chinonso Uche emerged the top scorer with 7 goals, just as Peter Abiodun and Hammed Saheed won the most valuable player and best goalkeeper awards, respectively in the boys category.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply