Gov. Dickson inaugurates transition committee

Bayelsa state governor, the Hon. Henry Seriake Dickson has inaugurated a 41-member Transition Committee in readiness for a smooth for a smooth transfer of power in the state.

The committee has the Secretary to the State Government, Barr. Kemela Okara as Chairman, Rt. Hon. Talford Ongolo,​ Deputy Chairman and Mr. Luka Obiri Secretary.

Other members of the​ committee which includes all serving Commissioners, five Permanent Secretaries and political appointees were inaugurated on Tuesday at Government House, Yenagoa.

A statement by Chief Press secretary to the governor, Mr. Fidelis Soriwei said the constitution of the Transition Committee was in line with the 1999 constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

He said: “the purpose is to articulate and record all that we have achieved and done in all sectors as a state and that’s why all commissioners are part of this committee to enable you present a scorecard of all our policies and programmes both completed and ongoing projects”.

He said that it is the outcome of this work that would be handed over in various forms to the incoming​Government.

He said the achievements of his government would be a testimony and Bayelsans are assured of continually enjoying the dividends of democracy.​

He thanked members of the committee for their diligence, sacrifice and manner they served his administration.

In his address,the chairman of the committee, Barr. Kemela Okara, stated that the purpose of the transition committee, is to prepare ground for smooth takeover of the incoming administration.​

He described the task as a major one because it cuts across all sectors, and, therefore assured that before the end of the year, the committee will complete its assigned task.

No tags for this post.

Matched content

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.