Handball League: Kano Pillars beat COAS Shooters

Kano Pillars male handball team on Wednesday in Abuja beat the COAS Shooters 29-22 at the ongoing 2019 Prudent Energy Handball Premier League.

Kano Pillars led 12-10 by the break before going on to extend their lead in the second half and end the game 29-22.

Emeka Nnamani, coach of the COAS Shooters, which is owned by the Nigerian Army, later said his team lost because their opponents were more experienced than his players.

“In a match there is always a loser and a winner. But it was unfortunate that we lost our second game.

“Our first game against Niger United of Minna was walk-over, but we will work hard to win our next game tomorrow (Thursday) against Plateau Vipers,” he said.

On his part, Solomon Yola, the coach of Kano Pillars, expressed delight at the performance of his players in winning the game.

“It was a very good match and we played well. I’m happy that we won our second game.

“My players won their game because they were determined, dedicated and hard working and these will make us win all our matches in this competition,” he said.

In another male competition game played on Wednesday, Kada Stars of Kaduna lost to D. Defenders (Civil Defence) 24-29.

Also, in other male competition matches, Niger United beat Plateau Vipers of Jos 41-20 while Borno Spiders of Maiduguri beat Rima Strikers 33-29.

Twelve male and 10 female teams are participating in this first phase of the second edition of Prudent Energy Handball Premier League, being organised by the Handball Federation of Nigeria

The male teams include Borno Spiders, COAS Shooters (Nigerian Army), D Defenders (Civil Defence), Kada Stars, Kano Pillars, Niger United of Minna and Owena Kings of Akure.

The rest are Plateau Vipers of Jos, Prison Key Boys (Nigeria Prisons), Rima Strikers of Sokoto, Safety Shooters (FRSC) and the Seasiders of Lagos.

The female competition has teams such as Abia Valiants of Umuahia, Defenders Babes (Civil Defence), the Desert Queens of Katsina, Edo Dynamos of Benin City and Imo Grasshoppers.

The others are Kada Queens of Kaduna, Owena Queens, Plateau Peacocks of Jos, Safety Babes (FRSC) and Seasiders Babes of Lagos.

The competition, being hosted at the Velodrome of the Abuja National Stadium, will hold daily till May 25, except on May 20 when all clubs will have a free day.

Eleven matches will be played daily till Saturday, while Sunday will have eight matches, Monday nine matches and May 22 six matches.

May 23 to May 25 will also have 11 matches daily also.

Matches will begin at 7 a.m. and end after 11 p.m., with the daily schedule having a break between 11 a.m. and 7 p.m.(NAN)

No tags for this post.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.