Illegal arms importation: FG moves to tighten borders 

The federal government has inaugurated an 11-man committee to ensure that security operations at the country’s Air, Sea and Land borders are improved.

The move is also part of efforts to ensure that the continued seizure of large cache of arms by the Nigerian Customs Service (NCS) is reduced to the bearest minimum.

Inaugurating the committee Thursday in Abuja, Minister of Interior and Chairman, Presidential Committee on improvement of Security Operations at Nigeria’s Ports, Abdulrahman Dambazau, said government’s desire to accelerate national development through diversification of economy would be realised through transparency and efficiency in the business environment.

Recall that the Vice President Prof. Yemi Osinbajo, recently signed three executive orders to ease business, fast track budget submissions and promote made in Nigeria products.

According to Dambazau, the committee’s assignment is to assist in improving the security services at the nation’s ports which will, among others things facilitate the implementation of the executive order No.1.

Parts of the committee’s reference terms include; “to assess the present deployment of personnel from different agencies working in the Airport, Seaports and Land border with a view to reducing their size to what is absolutely necessary, in accordance with global best practice.

Other terms of reference are “to recommend measures to promote ease of doing business at Nigeria’s ports while ensuring maximum security according to global best practices; to sensitize all personnel working at Nigeria’s Ports and the general public on the new policy and practice of doing business at all Nigeria’s ports and borders in strict compliance with international best practices.”

The committee which has a duration of eight weeks to turn in its reports is also expected to identify the most vital agencies and desks needed for efficient operations and their appropriate locations within the ports.

Aside Dambazau, members of the committee are the Minister of State, Aviation, Hadi Sirika, as well as heads of the Nigeria Customs Service, Nigeria Immigration Service, NDLEA, the Nigeria Civil Aviation Authority, Federal Airport Authority of Nigeria, Nigeria Ports Authority, Presidential Enabling Business Environment Council PEBEC, as well as the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

Related content you may like

Be the first to comment