Isoko South 1 bye-election: INEC declares PDP winner

Blueprint Whatsapp

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Mr. Evivie Ovuakpoye, as winner of the Isoko South 1 State Constituency bye-election.

According to the official results released by INEC Sunday morning, the PDP’s candidate secured his victory with a total 6,957 votes to defeat 11 other candidates including his closest rival, Ifowodo Ogagaghene Osaye of the All Progressives Congress (APC) who scored a paltry 1,301 votes to place second.

The candidate of Social Democratic Party (SDP) Michael Emmena got 1, 291 votes.

The only female candidate in the Isoko South 1 State Constituency bye-election, Ms. Eterigo Onowojo of the African Alliance (AA) scored zero in the 12-candidate field.

Other candidates scored 1, 5, 11, 16 and 22 votes respectively to make up the number of contestants in the 2021 Isoko South 1 State Constituency bye-election.

Meanwhile, the commission made good its promise to test-run the use of the new election technology, Bimodal Voter Accreditation System (BVAS) which turned out to be successful in the Bye-election conducted over the weekend in Delta state.

With success of the INEC’s BVAS in the Isoko South 1 bye-election which took place last Saturday, it is expected that the commission would deploy the technology in subsequent elections.

Related content you may like