Its official: Lyon defeats Diri, ends PDP’s 20-year dominance in Bayelsa; INEC keeps ‘leading’ Bello waiting in Kogi

Chief David Lyon of the All Progressive Congress (APC) gubernatorial candidate has been declared winner of the Bayelsa 2019 Governorship election by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Lyon, who won in six of the state’s eight local government areas, defeated his closest rival, Senator Douye Diri of the Peoples Democratic Party.

Diri won in two local governments.

Lyon’s victory marks the first time the PDP would lose a governorship election in the state since the nation returned to democracy in 1999.

The six local government areas won by the APC are Brass; Nembe; Ogbia, Southern Ijaw, Ekeremor and Yenagoa while the PDP won in the Sagbama and Kolokuma/Opokuma local government areas.

In the Sagbama LGA, Bayelsa East Senatorial District, the APC polled 7, 831 votes while the PDP scored 60,339 votes.

The result from Nembe LGA, Bayelsa East showed that the APC garnered 83,041 votes while the PDP polled 874 votes.

In the Kolouma/Opokuma LGA, Bayelsa Central, the APC scored 8,934 votes while the PDP scored 15,360 votes. In the Brass LGA, Bayelsa East, the APC got 23,831 votes while the PDP polled 10,410 votes.

The APC scored 24,607 votes in Yenagoa LGA in Bayelsa Central, while the PDP got 19,184 votes.

In the former President Goodluck Jonathan’s Ogbia LGA, Bayelsa East, the APC defeated the PDP candidate by garnering 58,016 votes while Diri polled 13,763 votes.

In Southern Ijaw Local Government, the APC candidate polled 124,803 votes while his rival got 4,898 votes.

Lyon also defeated Diri in Ekeremor LGA by polling 21,489 to the PDP’s candidate’s 18,344 votes.

The full results

Meanwhile, Governor Yahaya Bello who is already coasting home to victory will have to wait for final announcement of Kogi governorship result on Monday morning.

Before the postponement, the electoral umpire had declared results of 18 out of the 21 local government areas.

Out of the 18 LGAs results, Bello won in 10 while his closest rival, Musa Wada of the PDP, won in eight LGAs.

With the results released by INEC, Bello who is the candidate of the APC in the Saturday governorship poll in the state, had polled 365,135 votes while Wada had 151,566 votes.

Bello won in the Ogori/Magongo, Ijumu, Kabba/Bunu, Adavi, Okene, Okehi, Mopa Moro, Olamaboro, Kogi, and Ajaokuta local government areas.

Bello polled massive votes in his stronghold, the Okene Local Government Area of Kogi Central Senatorial District, polling 112,764 votes against Wada’s paltry 139 votes in the area.

The governor also scored 64,657 votes in the Adavi Local Government Area of the Kogi Central Senatorial District against Wada’s 366 votes.

In the Ogori/Magogo LGA, Bello also won with 3,679 votes while Wada had 2,145 votes.

 The governor also triumphed in the Ijumu LGA of the  Kogi West. He scored 11,425 votes against Wada’s 7,587 votes.

In the Omala LGA, where the recently sworn-in deputy governor of the state, Edward Onoja, comes from, the governor lost to the PDP candidate, scoring 8,473 votes while Wada scored 14,403 votes.

In the Kabba/Bunu LGA where the Speaker of the state House of Assembly, Matthew Kolawole, hails from, Bello won with 15,364 votes defeating Wada who polled 8,084 votes.

The governor also won in the Okehi LGA, where the candidate of the Social Democratic Party in the election, Natasha Akpoti, hails from. The governor scored 36,954 votes,Wada polled 478 votes, while Akpoti scored 3,095 votes.

In Yagba East, Wada won with 7,546 votes against Bello’s 6,735.

In the Yagba West, where the Secretary to the State Government, Folasade Ayoade, comes from, the PDP won with 8,860 as against Bello’s 7,868 votes.

Results in the Mopa Moro LGA, where Bello’s Director-General on Media and Strategy, Kingsley Fanwo, comes from, was also close with Bello scoring 4,602 votes against Wada’s 3,581.

 But in Idah, Wada polled 13,962 votes against Bello’s 4,602. In Ajaokuta, the APC scored 17,952 votes with the PDP scoring 5,565 votes. The PDP also lost in the Korto LGA. Its candidate scored 9,404 against Bello’s 14,097.

But in the Olamaboro LGA, Bello garnered 16,876 votes to defeat Wada, who polled 8,155 votes.

No tags for this post.

Matched content

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.