Jubilation, mixed feelings as INEC declares PDP’s Ihedioha winner of Imo guber poll

After two days of waiting for the Imo State gubernatorial election results, the state Returning Officer (RO) Prof Francis Otunta has finally declared Honourable Emeka Ihedioha as the winner.

While announcing the scores of individual candidates and their parties, Prof Otunta said Ihedioha of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) polled 273,404 votes while his closest rival Ugwumba Uche Nwosu of the Action Alliance (AA) got 190,364 votes.

He further disclosed that Ifeanyi Godwin Araraume of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) scored 114,676 votes while Senator Hope Uzodinma of the All Progressives Congress (APC) secured 96,458 votes.

Reacting to the victory of Ihedioha, the State Secretary of the PDP Hon. Ray Emeana expressed satisfaction that his party won the election despite intimidation from the state government and its elements.

He prayed for the era of Ihedioha and PDP to bring the long awaited succour to the people.

In his reaction, Spokesman of AA Hon. Ikenna Emeh faulted the decision of the RO to declare Ihedioha winner without recourse to the Constitution which according to him states that a winner must have 25% spread.

The record made available by the electoral body shows that Ihedioha won in 11 local government areas (LGAs)  out of 27, while Nwosu secured 10. Araraume won four and Uzodinma two.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.