Kaduna: INEC clears Sani, Ashiru, Hunkuyi, 11 others for guber poll 

APC governorship candidate Uba Sani (centre) with Kaduna state deputy governor Balarabe

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has released a list of 14 governorship candidates for Kaduna state ahead of the 2023 general election, with Sen. Uba Sani, Hon. Isah Ashiru, Sen. Suleiman Hunkuyi and Jonathan Asake all included. 

The list available at Kaduna state INEC headquarters, listed the various party candidates as All Progressives Congress’ Uba Sani, Mohammed Isah Ashiru of People’s Democratic Party, Suleiman Othman Hunkuyi of New Nigerian Peoples Party, Hon. Jonathan Asake of Labour Party and Malam Hayatuddeen Lawal Makarfi of the People’s Redemption Party. 

Other candidates recognised by INEC include Sen. Caleb Zagi of African Democratic Congress (ADC), Dr. Andrew Duya Abui of All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA), Ibrahim Adamu of the Social Democratic Party (SDP), Musa Kallah Yahaya All People Party and Adamu Timothy of Action Alliance (AA). 

Ambassador Sanin Yaya Yaya of Young People’s Party (YPP), Jibril Yusuf of Action Democratic Party (ADP), Gambo Salisu Abubakar of National Rescue Movement (NRM), and Alhassan Yahaya of Allied People’s Movement (APM) completes the list. 

There was tension within the Sen. Uba Sani’s camp that he might not be recognised as the APC governorship candidate, as one of the aspirants who contested the party’s ticket with him, Hon. Mohammed Sani Sha’aban,  is in court to contest his victory.

Sha’aban in a suit filed at the Federal High Court, Kaduna with case number FHC/KD/CS/79/2022, dragged the APC to the court as the first defendant, Senator Uba Sani as the second defendant and INEC as the third defendant. 

The court is expected to resume hearing on the case next week Wednesday.

Related content you may like