How Kwara ANA marked World Poetry Day


The Association of Nigerian Authors (ANA), Kwara state chapter, on Wednesday, joined other poets and writers worldwide to celebrate this year’s World Poetry Day.

Held at the Kwara State University (KWASU), Malete, the event witnessed various poetry, spoken-word and drama performances from students, members and non-members of the association.

More so, the event was well attended by prominent scholars and literary enthusiasts like the Vice-Chairman of ANA Kwara, Dr. Abubakar Abdullahi who is also the Head of English Department, University of Ilorin (UNILORIN), the Head of Corporate Affairs Unit, University of Ilorin, Mr. Mubarak Oladosu, LOC Secretary and Lecturer at the Kwara State Polytechnic (Kwara Poly), Mr. Damilare Atolagbe, KWARA ANA Secretary, Mr Babayemi Opeyemi, KWARA ANA Treasurer, Mrs Aminat Babatunde, KWARA ANA PRO, Mr Ahmad Saliu Toyin, Mr. Abdulhafeez T. Oyewole and the Master of Ceremony of the gathering, Mr Sangodare Ayinla.

In his opening remark, the Chairman of the occasion, who is also the Acting Head of English Department, KWASU, Dr Mashood Zakariyau, charged the audience, especially the students, keep honing their creative prowess as they would one day be celebrated.

“Take this occasion as important one and something that will transform you into the kind of scholars you have always wanted to be,” Zakariyau advised.

Also speaking, the immediate past Chairman of ANA Kwara, Oladele Babajamu who is also the current National Publicity Secretary (North) of the association, lauded the chapter for the initiative.

He therefore hoped that the occasion would mark the beginning of a greater synergy between ANA Kwara and KWASU, saying: “I hope this (World Poetry Day) marks the beginning of relationship between KWARA ANA and KWASU and I hope it will be in a good note.”

The ANA spokesman, who observed that the Day was first marked in October in the late 1990s before adopting this new date worldwide, reminded the gathering on the significance of the day which is for poets to write new poems, recite them and promote poetry.

In his part, the Local Organising Committee Chairman of the state chapter of the association, Dr Reuben Akano who is also the ANA coordinator at the university, observed that day was witnessed with a great deal of celebration, outpour of emotions from a large turn-out of writers and poets who were passionate and conscious of their society at large.

Akano expressed his appreciation to everyone that contributed to the possibility of the gathering, from donors of books the invited schools, students, to members and non-members of ANA Kwara who graced the occasion and feasted from the delicious works of art presented.

Blueprint reports that awards were presented to the universities in the state and were received by representatives of these institutions as follows: Princess Prinye Jaja (Al-Hikmah University), Adeniyi Ibrahim William (Kwara State University), Sakeenah Jatto (University of Ilorin), Kudus Adebayo (Kwara State University) and Imran Rasheed (Al-Hikmah University).

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply