Nasarawa assembly constitutes 22 standing committees

The Speaker of Nasarawa state House of Assembly, Alhaji Ibrahim Balarabe-Abdullahi, has announced chairmen of the 22 Standing Committees and their members to conduct the affairs of the legislature.

Balarabe-Abdullahi, while announcing the names of the committees in Lafia Monday, urged them to live above board while discharging their .

The speaker urged the lawmakers not to compromise while performing their oversight functions in the interest of peace and development of the state.

According to him, we have been sworn in for three months now, hence the need for the constitution of the Standing Committees to pilot the affairs of the House.

He said that the rules and business committee is to be chaired by Tanko Tunga, who is also the Majority Leader of the house, while,  Danladi Jatau, the Minority Leader is to head the committee on public complaints and petitions.

Similarly, the works and transport committee is to be chaired by Abdullazeez Danladi, while Danladi Ogazi is to take charge of education, science and technology.

Others are: public accounts committee to be chaired by Abdullahi Angibi, while finance and appropriation committee chairman is Aliyu Dogara.

The chairman, local government committee is Mohammed Alkali, while lands and survey committee is to be chaired by David Maiyaki.

Mohammed Muluku is the chairman of the house committee on budget, planning and sustainable development goals (SDGs).

Mohammed Bello is to head the committee on capital market/commerce and industry, while the committee on youths and sports is to be chaired by Musa Iyimoga,’’ the speaker said.

The speaker also announced Usman Shafa as chairman, committee on health; Ali Nana, chairman, committee on public service and pilgrims; while women affairs committee is to be chaired by Samuel Tsebe.

While Abel Bala is the chairman, welfare committee, Mohammed Okpoku is to be in charge of the committee on nasiec, multilateral cooperative and community development, while Mohammed Omadefu is the chairman of the committee on information.

“Zhekaba Iliya is to chair housing and environment committee and Ibrahim Akwe is the chairman, house committee on agriculture and natural resources.

“The committee on water resources and rural development is to be chaired by Suleiman Adamu, while Suleiman Yakubu is to chair urban and regional planning (nudb) committee and John Osewu is the chairman, judiciary committee,’’ he said.

Balarabe-Abdullahi further announced Nehemiah Dandaura, the Deputy Speaker of the house as the chairman, project monitoring.The speaker wished them well and urged them to start preparing for their various oversight functions in order to assess the level of the 2019 budget performance of ministries, departments and agencies (MDAs). (NAN)    

Matched content

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.