Home / News / NFF/CBN Financial Institutions tourney rolls off Oct 14
CBN Gov VC UNN  - NFF/CBN Financial Institutions tourney rolls off Oct 14

NFF/CBN Financial Institutions tourney rolls off Oct 14

Spread the love

This year’s NFF/CBN All –Financial Institutions Football Competition will kick off on Saturday and end on 28th October.

This much was disclosed on Wednesday at a press briefing by both organizations at the Glass House, with the apex bank pledging continued commitment to sponsorship of the competition that is now in its 31st year.

“It is worthy of note that teams from Deposit Money Banks (DMBs), Micro Finance Banks, Financial Regulatory Agencies and other Financial Institutions have indicated their interest to participate in this year’s competition. In recent editions, we have observed an increase in the number of microfinance banks participating in the competition. This is an indication that the impact of this competition is being felt at the grassroots level where budding talents are often discovered and nurtured to a level of national and international recognition.

“In fact, Balogun Fulani MFB from Ilorin is the defending champion, having won the championship for the first time last year. The team has created a record as the first Micro Finance Bank to win the competition since its inception 30 years ago,” said Elder Martins Ogwuda, who stood in for CBN’s Acting Director (Corporate Communications), Mr. Isaac Okoroafor.

NFF Deputy General Secretary, Dr. Emmanuel Ikpeme, who stood in for the General Secretary, Dr. Mohammed Sanusi, lauded the Central Bank of Nigeria for keeping faith with the competition for the past 30 years, and promised that the football –ruling body will always provide the best hands to ensure flawless organization of the national event.

This year’s championship will begin with preliminary matches in Akure, Bauchi, Calabar and Owerri. The quarter –final matches will hold at the same venues, with the semi finals in Lokoja and the final in Lafia.

 The winner of this year’s competition will go home with the sum of N2million; runners –up will pocket N1.5million; third –placed team will earn N1million and; the fourth –placed team will smile to the bank with N500,000.

Also at the briefing were NFF’s Technical Director, Mr. Bitrus Bewarang, Director of Competitions, Mr. Bola Oyeyode, Director of Communications, Ademola Olajire and Head of Women’s Football, Ruth David.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Check Also

PIC. 17. MINISTER OF INTERIOR VISITS FEDERAL FIRE SERVICE IN ABUJA - Plateau Assembly backs national fire service code

Plateau Assembly backs national fire service code

Spread the loveTweetJos The Plateau state Assembly yesterday received the report of its committee on works and transport on the need for a law to enforce the national fire service code in the state. Presenting the committee’s report on behalf of its chairman, Deputy Speaker, Rt. Hon. Saleh Yipmong, said the bill for the enforcement of the national fire safety code, for fire service scale of charges in Plateau received the inputs and contributions of critical stakeholders during its public hearings. “It is hoped that in the course of implementation of this law, conveyed effort and priority will not be limited to revenue generation but also on safety in the habitation and maintenance of both public and residential buildings in the state,” the report read in part. Spread the loveTweet