Nigerian wins 2020 Commonwealth Short Story Prize

Nigeria’s Innocent Chizaram Ilo has won 2020’s Commonwealth Short Story Prize for African region with “When a Woman Renounces Motherhood.”

Illo, 23, is the youngest-ever writer to be awarded the Africa region prize.

The judging panel that selected Ilo’s work was chaired by Ghanaian writer, Nii Ayikwei Parkes and five other judges representing the five regions of the Commonwealth: Mohale Mashigo for Africa, William Phuan for Asia, Heather O’Neill for Canada and Europe, Elizabeth Walcott-Hackshaw for Caribbean and Nic Low for Pacific.

Speaking on Illo’s win, Of Ilo’s win, Mashigo said: “‘When a Woman Renounces Motherhood’ is one of those stories that tell you something shocking and yet leave you with empathy for the characters in a story. The writing is so specific and intimate which makes you want to go back and read it again… and again.”

Parkes further praised the story for its “particularly striking confidence switching between languages” and Ilo’s unapologetic use of interspersed, un-italicized Igbo and pidgin.

Reacting to his win, Ilo said, “I still can’t wrap my head around it. You know you always dream of this moment, how you’ll scream from the rooftops and rent your clothes. Then it comes by sudden and the only thing you can do is call your mother and cry over the phone about how proud your father would have been if he was alive. This means so much to me. I feel grateful, honored, proud and humbled, at the same time. This is one of those moments that make me look back at all the late nights and piles of rejection emails and say, “Maybe, just maybe, this writing thing is worth it.

Winning the regional prize comes with a £2,500 cash prize and publication in Granta.

The other regional winners are: “The Great Indian Tee and Snakes” by Kritika Pandey (Asia Region), “Wherever Mister Jensen Went” by Reyah Martin (Canada and Europe Region), “Mafootoo” by Brian S. Heap (Caribbean Region) and “The Art of Waving” by Andrea E. Macleod (Pacific Region).

The overall winner, who will be announced during a special online award ceremony at 1pm BST on 30 June 2020, will receive £5,000. Africa Region has had one previous overall winner. Jennifer Makumbi won in 2014 for her “Let’s Tell This Story Properly.”

Sign Up Now

ePaper Subscription

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.