NLC strike: El-Rufai swears in Commission of Inquiry members

Governor Nasir el-Rufai of Kaduna state on Tuesday sworn in six of the seven members of Commission of Inquiry to probe the Nigerian Labour Congress (NLC) warning strike in May.
The seventh member, Dr Nasirudeen Usman, was said to be on an official assignment in Qatar.

Governor el-Rufai expressed confidence that quality of the membership and the leadership of the Commission of Inquiry that will look into the NLC strike of May, will find answers to the key questions that have occupied the minds of its citizens.

“The Chairman and members were carefully selected, to look into this event and give us factual and legal recommendations as to actions that Federal Government as well as the state government may need to take, to ensure that no state in Nigeria, and in particular the people of Kaduna state, do not have to go through what they went through in the four days, starting from the 16th to the 19th of May 2021,’’ he said.

Kaduna state government announced Justice Ishaq Bello, a retired Judge, as the chairman of the Judicial Commission of Inquiry to look into the NLC strike last Tuesday. Other members are ex-Attorney General of Cross River state Eyo Ekpo, ex-Attorney General of Kaduna state, Mrs Joan Jatau-Kadiya.  

Adekeye listed other members of the Commission to include ex-Assistant General Secretary of NLC and Deputy National Secretary of Nigerian Union of Journalists (NUJ), Chom Bagu, AVM Rabiu Dabo and Malam Mohammed Isah Aliyu.

The Special Adviser stated that ‘’the Judicial Commission of Inquiry is constituted based on the 1999 Constitution and the Commissions of Inquiry Law CAP 34, Laws of Kaduna State1991. The Inquiry has 14 terms of reference which include to ascertain the legality of the warning strike, the actions of various persons and organisations.
“The commission should also determine whether such actions amount to any breach of  the Trade Union Act, the Trade Disputes Act, the Trade Disputes (Essential Services) Act, the Miscellaneous Offenses Act, the Quarantine Act, the Public Health Law and Penal Code Law of Kaduna state and other laws.’’