Osun adopts parliamentary system for LG election 

After ten years, Osun state government has concluded arrangement to conduct election into the 30 local government and 34 Local Council Development Areas in the state.
The Osun Independent Electoral Commission, OSIEC, has therefore adopted parliamentary system of government for the conduct of the election.
The chairman, OSIEC, Mr. Segun Oladitan, disclosed this during a stakeholder meeting with Representatives of political parties in Osogbo, the state capital on Wednesday.
He said the election would be conducted for only Councillors who will later elect the chairmen themselves.
The commission and the political parties had agreed to conduct the election on January 27, 2018 after considering the 90 days notice of constitutional provision.
He noted that the election could not be conducted due to different cases against the commission since it was established in October 2013.
Oladitan disclosed that only 36 out of the 39 political parties that have registered with the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, would participate in the election.
“Today in Osun, we have 131 wards in the central, 119 wards in the East and 128 wards in the West.
“We shall operate parliamentary system of government for the local government election. We are only going to conduct election for the office of Councillor,” he stated.
He however appealed to all stakeholders to cooperate with the commission for the successful conduct of the election.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply