Oyegun’s tenure tears Buhari, APC governors apart

President Muhammadu Buhari on Tuesday had a close-door meeting with governors elected on the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC) at the Council Chamber of Presidential Villa, Abuja.

The meeting which started at 2:15 ended at 3:30pm, and couldn’t resolve the contentious tenure elongation for the members of the national and state executive committees of the party.
The governors declined comments as they came out of the venue of the meeting.
The governors, who appeared divided over the issue of tenure elongation for the party leaders, had met briefly before the arrival of the President for the meeting.
The President had at the APC National Executive Committee meeting on Tuesday said tenure elongation for the party leaders is illegal and unconstitutional.
“In particular, I think it is important for me to speak quickly on the contentious issue of the tenure of our National and State Executive Officers. As we all know, a motion was moved at the last National Executive Committee meeting of February 27, 2018, to the effect that when the tenure of the current executives expire in June this year, they should be allowed to continue for one year.
“This motion was duly carried by a majority of members present at the last NEC Meeting, even though some of our party members have since spoken up very vehemently against it. Others have even taken the matter to court.
“On my own part, I have taken some time to review and seek advice on the resolution. And what I found is that it contravenes both our party Constitution and the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria,” he said.
Those who attended the meeting are Governor Yahaya Bello (Kogi), Governor Jubrilla Bindow (Adamawa), Governor Badaru Abubakar (Jigawa), Governor Rauf Aregbesola (Osun), Governor Atiku Bagudu (Kebbi) and Governor Rotimi Akeredolu (Ondo).
Governor Abdufattah Ahmed (Kwara), Governor Godwin Obaseki (Edo), Governor Abdullahi Ganduje (Kano), Governor Tanko Al-Makura (Nasarawa), Governor Kashim Shettima (Borno), Governor Rochas Okorocha (Imo), Governor Akinwunmi Ambode (Lagos), Governor Abiola Ajimobi (Oyo), Governor Abubakar Sani Bello (Niger), Governor Aminu Tambuwal (Sokoto), Governor Abdulaziz Yari (Zamfara), Governor Simon Lalong (Plateau), Governor Samuel Ortom (Benue), Governor Nasir El-Rufai (Kaduna), Governor Ibikunle Amosun (Ogun) and the Deputy Governor of Bauchi state.

Share the news, pls

Matched content

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.