Oyo assembly passes 4 bills approving 4 new ministries

The Oyo state House of Assembly has passed four bills for the establishment of four new ministries aimed at improving efficiency in service delivery.

The Speaker of the assembly, Mr Adebo Ogundoyin, said the bills were passed in response to the need of the people, adding when Governor Seyi Makinde eventually gives assent to it service delivery would be enhanced.

The proposed ministries include Lands, Housing and Urban Development; Environment and Natural Resources; Information and Mass Mobilisation, and Special Duties.

When the ministries are eventually established, the state, which currently has eight ministries, will have 12.

“The additional ministries will boost service delivery by the Governor Makinde administration, we want to improve productivity in all areas of governance,” Ogundoyin said while announcing the passage of the Bills.

He said that the additional ministries would bring government nearer to the people and equally boost provision of basic infrastructure to the grassroot.

The speaker maintained that the Bills were thoroughly scrutinised by the lawmakers to ensure that they had no overlapping of functions. 

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.