Oyo: Makinde constitutes state electoral commission

The Oyo state government has approved Thursday approved the composition of the Oyo State Independent Electoral Commission (OYSIEC).

The development is part of the efforts of Governor Seyi Makinde to fulfill his administration’s plan to conduct council elections in the first quarter of 2020.

This was contained in a communication from Governor Seyi Makinde to the state House of Assembly seeking confirmation of the nominees of the electoral commission.

A statement signed by the Chief Press Secretary to the governor, Mr Taiwo Adisa, said the governor in a letter dated 18 September, 2019, forwarded the names of eight individuals to the House of Assembly for consideration as chairman and members of the commission.

“I wish to inform Your Rt Honourable and other honourable members of the composition of the State Independent Electoral Commission (OYSIEC).

“The following personalities have been considered suitable, based on their track records, to oversee and conduct elections into the local governments in the state,” the letter read in part.

According to the letter, Barrister Isiaka Olagunju was nominated as chairman of the commission, while Comrade Adeniyi Afeez Babatunde, Alhaja Ganiyat Saka, Mr Olanrewaju Emmanuel, Chief Kumi Agboola, Mr Remi Ayoade, Mr Sunday Falan and Mr Adeojo Elias, were nominated as members.

No tags for this post.

Matched content

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.