Oyo Police nab 17 ‘kidnap syndicates’

The Oyo state Police Command Friday paraded 17 suspected kidnap syndicates that had been terrorising the people of Igana in Iwajowa local government and Ogbomoso axis of the state.

Briefing journalists at the Command headquaters Eleyele Ibadan on behalf of the state Commissioner of Police, CP. Adewale Williams, the Police Public Relations Officer (PPRO), SP. Adewale Osifeso, said some of the paraded suspects were responsible for the abduction of the farm manager of a former governor, the late Otunba Christopher Alao Akala, Christopher Taiwo Bakare, who was kidnapped on July 16, 2022.

SP Osifeso identified the arrested suspects as Anjola Abubakar, 25, Sani Abacha Abdulahi, 28, Sani Abacha Jafaru, 26, Sale Muhammadu, 25, Isha Seriki Muhammed, 25, Aliu Jafaru aged 50, Umar Abubakar, 34, Mustapha Baruguma aged 20, Unaru Jale Usman, aged 56, Abdulahi Muhammed Sani, 42,

Others according to the PPRO were Jamiu Jubril, 45, Kayode Kolade, 35, Laggi Usman, 28, Jamiu Iroko, 30, Sule Bello, 20, Umar Shuaibu, 20, Kali Weti aged 29 were responsible for the abduction of one Aishat Lawal female, Haruna Jaye, male and Olasunkanmi Wasiu.

“In a bid to rid the state of criminal and unscrupulous elements the Oyo state Police Command under CP Adewale Williams has completely rejig the command’s security architecture to cater comprehensively and qualitatively for all and sundry the command in concept with communal partnerships relevant sister agencies and non state actors have been able to collectively meet up and resolve the yearnings and concerns of the good people of Oyo state regarding emerging and existing security threats to include armed robbery, defilement and kidnapping,” he said.

He added, “Also, operatives of the Command attached to Igana Divisional Police Headquarters through intelligent driven surveillance and painstaking investigation around Igana, Iwere Ile, Ijio, all under Iwajowa Local Government Area of the state. To this end, the Commissioner of Police, CP. Adebowale Williams, appreciates the residents for their support and enjoyed them to be

unrelenting and generous with the provision of credible and timely information capable of nipping crime in the bud at all times.”

Speaking further, SP Osifeso stated that Anjola Abubarkar, Sani Abacha Abdulahi, Sank Abacha Jafaru, Sale Mohammed, and Isah Seriki were responsible for the kidnap of the Akala’s farm manager, while Umar Abubakar, Mustapha Baruguma, Aliu Jafaru were responsible for the kidnap of Dr. Rasheed Oladoye.

Related content you may like