Promotion galore for senior Police officers: New DIGs, AIGs, CSPs, others emerge… see full list

The Police Service Commission (PSC) has approved the appointment of six Deputy Inspectors General of Police (DIGs).

A press statement by PSC Head, Press, and Public Relations Ikechukwu Ani, Monday in Abuja, said to two of the newly promoted DIGs are expected to proceed on pre-retirement leave.

According to the commission the other four are to replace the four retired DIGs and form part of the IGPs Management team made up of seven DIGs.

The new DIGs, the statement said, include Assistant Inspectors General of Police (DIGs) Abdul Dahiru Danwawu; Lawal Shehu; Adeyemi Samuel Ogunjemilusi; and Peter Babatunde Ogunyanwo; as well as Commissioners of Police (CPs) Alex Okpara and Celestine Okoye.

He said DIG Ogunjemilusi and DIG Okpara are to proceed on pre-retirement leave.

Ani said the commission also approved the promotion of 14 CPs to the next rank of AIG including: CP Yunana Babas; CP Dan-Malam Mohammed; CP Mua’zu Zubairu Halilu; CP Rabiu Yusuf; CP Sanusi Nma Lemu; CP Ahmed Iliyasu; CP Mohammed Uba Kura; CP Zaki M. Ahmed; and CP Gwandu Haliru Abubakar.

Others are: CP Zama Bala Senchi, presently CP in charge of Jigawa state; CP Bello A. Sadiq; CP Austin Iwero Agbonlahor; CP Lawan Ado, formerly in charge of Kwara state and currently Commandant, Police College, Kaduna; and CP Bashir Makama.

The spokesperson said the appointments and promotions were the high points of the commission’s 6th Plenary Meeting held in Abuja on Friday, October 18, 2019, and chaired by Chairman of the Commission IGP Musiliu Smith (Retd).

He said PSC approved the promotion of 230 Superintendents of Police (SPs) to Chief Superintendents of Police (CSPs); 11 Deputy Superintendents of Police (DSPs) to SPs and 211 Assistant Superintendents of Police (ASP) to DSPs.

Similarly, 41 Inspectors were also promoted to the rank of ASP1.

He named the newly promted CSPs to include; Kabiru Ishaq; Sufi Salisu Abdullahi; Dattijo Abdullahi; Bisiriyu Akindele; Faloye Folusho; Ngozi Faith Nwosu; and Shehudden Yusuf Baba.

Other are: Ibrahim Bashir; Benjamin Nlemchukwu Ugwuegbulam; Remigius Nnaemeka Ekpe; Tope Adewunmi Oparinde; Esther Ifeoma Nwaiwu, Victoria Olayinka Mulero and Ogbonnaya Nwota.

He said the commission’s chairman assured that PSC would continue to closely monitor the performance of these officers, noting that promotion in the Force would continue to be based on merit, seniority, and availability of vacancies.

No tags for this post.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.