Reps fail to announce principal officers

Contrary to high expectations that the remaining principal officers of the House of Representatives would be announced at resumption of plenary, no such move was made by Speaker Femi Gbajabiamila Tuesday.

Beside the positions of speaker and deputy speaker, which were filled at the inauguration of the House on June 11, by Gbajabiamila and Hon Idris Wase respectively, the other offices yet to be filled include those of the majority leader, the minority leader, chief whip, minority whip, deputy majority leader, deputy minority leader, deputy whip and the minority whip.

Explaining the development however, a member of the ad hoc committee on media, Hon Salam Bamidele stated that the announcement was not made, because of “the need for further and wider consultations”.

But he gave assurance that it would be done before the end of this week.

There have been speculations that the announcement was being delayed following disagreements within the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), over who should be appointed.

Specifically on the majority leader, it was reported that the party national chairman, Adams Oshiomole, and Kano state Governor, Abdulahi Ganduje, were at loggerheads over who is appointed.

Blueprint reported Monday that Oshiomhole had when he was visited by the Kano state delegation said Honourable Aliyu Doguwa was made the majority leader.

Related content you may like

Be the first to comment