Reps get three new members

Three new persons formally joined the House of Representatives on Wednesday.

The oath of office was adminstered on the new lawmakers by the Speaker
of the House of Representatives, Yakubu Dogara.

The new members are Yusuf Nuhu (Bauchi, Toro Federal Constituency),
Tunji Olawuyi (Kwara, Irepodun/Isin/Oke Ero/Ekiti Federal 
Constituency) and Abubakar Kusada (Katsina, Kankia/Kusada Federal
Constituency). They are all members of Nigeria’s ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) and were recently elected to fill vacancies in their various constituencies.

Two of the seats (Katsina and Bauchi) were recently declared vacant by
the speaker after the former occupants were elected senators.

The former occupant of Irepodun/Isin/Oke Ero/Ekiti federal constituency of Kwara State, Funke Adedoyin, died in September after a brief illness.

Similar news  Breaking: FG clears air, announces May 29, June 12 public holidays

Also on Wednesday, a lawmaker from Anambra State, Gabriel Onyewife,
defected from the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) to the
Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Mr Onyewife said his defection was due to the crisis and factions in APGA.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply