Rwanda tour: NCF names Nigeria Women Cricket Squad as camp shuts

The Nigerian Cricket Federation (NCF) has made a public list of female players for matches against visiting Rwanda national team counterparts.

Information made available to Blueprint revealed that 16 Female Cricketers have been selected to play in Nigeria’s colours against Rwanda Female National team in Bilateral Series between January 23 and 30, 2019 in Abuja.

The Five match series includes one day Internationals ODI and three T20.

All matches will take place on the turf wicket of Package ‘B’ National Stadium, Abuja.

The shortlisted girls had several trials held at the Murtala Mohamed Square Cricket oval in Kaduna.

 A total of 25 girls were in camp that opened January 4 and due to close this Sunday.

Among those that made the squad included; Ephraim Grace, Obulor Agatha, Igbobie Abigail, Fyneface Fate, Agazuma Samantha, Esiegbe Favour, Ayoka Hannah, Etim Blessing, Nwobodo Blessing, Efosa Joy, Frank Blessing, Abdulquadri Taiwo, Samson Rachael, Desmond Mary, Seaman Timi and George Ogechi

The Nigeria female team will also play in the 2019 ICC World Cup Qualifiers billed for Harare, Zimbabwe from May 3 to 13, 2019.

Nigeria and Rwanda would be using the five match series as a build up towards World Cup Qualifiers where either team are expected to encounter countries like Kenya, Mozambique, Namibia, Sierra Leone, Tanzania , Uganda and host Zimbabwe.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply