Sanwo-Olu charges lawmakers to live up to expectations

The governor of Lagos state, Mr Babajide Sanwo-Olu, has charged members of Lagos 9th assembly to live up to expectations saying much is expected from them by Lagosians.

The governor, who was represented by the Deputy Governor, Dr Obafemi Hamzat, said this when he proclaimed the birth of the 9th assembly in line with the constitution. 

He appreciated the people of the state for their support at the polls, and urged the lawmakers to live up to the expectations of the people.

“As you commence the legislative duties it is important to remind ourselves that we are all accountable to the people of the state. 

“The essence of democracy is checks and balances and separation of power. Lagos state has always been a pacesetter and it will continue to remain one. 

“As progressive partners in this dispensation, we have a responsibility to raise the bar and it is important to uphold this.  We should activate the process to develop the state that is home to over 20 million people,” he said.

Sanwo-Olu added that the responsibility for oversight functions and the accuracy with which it deserved were very important for the lawmakers.

The governor stressed that he was committed to the full implementation of the 2019 budget, which he said was important to the progress of the people of the state.

Meanwhile, the State House of Assembly re-elected Rt. Hon Mudashiru Obasa as the speaker.

Obasa, representing Agege constituency 1 was nominated for the position by the lawmaker representing Lagos Mainland constituency 2, Hon Moshood Oshun and seconded by Hon Yinka Ogundimu from Agege constituency 2.

Also elected during the proclamation and inauguration of the assembly on Friday 7th June was the deputy speaker of the 9th assembly, Hon Wasiu Eshinlokun-Sanni, who was nominated by Hon Tunde Braimoh and seconded by Hon Desmond Elliot.

Also elected were the majority leader, Hon Sanai Agunbiade, chief whip, Hon Rotimi Abiru, deputy majority leader, Hon Olumuyiwa Jimoh and deputy chief whip, Hon Mosunmola Sangodara.

“There are 29 returning and 11 newly elected with one fifth term member, and five fourth termers,” he said.

Earlier in his welcome address, the Clerk of the House, Mr Azeez Sanni

stated that the assembly comprises 40 seats for 40 members and that all the members elect were from the All Progressives Congress (APC). 

Related content you may like

Be the first to comment