Serving lawmakers dump APC, team up with Atiku’s PDP

Blueprint Whatsapp

From Katsina state comes massive defection as three serving members of the House of Representatives have dumped All Progressives Congress (APC) to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

The lawmakers from President Muhammadu Buhari’s state who defected to PDP are Hamza Dalhatu (Rimi/Charanci/Batagarawa constituency), Salisu Iro (Katsina constituency) and Ahmad Dayyabu (Danmusa/Batsari/Safana constituency).

Blueprint learnt that they dumped the APC for PDP after holding a private meeting in Sokoto on Sunday with the PDP presidential candidate, Atiku Abubakar.

Dr Mustapha Muhammed Inuwa, the former secretary to Katsina state government now the Director General, Atiku Lado Campaign Council in Katsina is said to be the brain behind Atiku’s meeting with the Katsina APC House of Representatives member who failed to secure a return ticket to the National Assembly during the party’s primary elections.

Also during the party’s campaign tour to Kurfi LGA on Monday, two chieftains of the ruling Katsina APC also defected to PDP with thousands of their followers.

The Chairman, Atiku/Lado Campaign Council, Sen. Umar Tsauri presented Alhaji Bishir Lawal and Dahiru Ahmed (aka Baba Dahe) along with 9,390 of their supporters to citizens in the area who turned out en masse to welcome them.

Related content you may like